A Very Blessed Day              

This past Sunday we were finally able to baptize our youngest son.  We have wanted to get him baptized for quite some time but my parents really wanted to be there and this was the earliest we could make it work.  They live in North Dakota and it takes some planning for them to be able to come.  They were there for the baptisms of both of the older kids so really wanted to be here for this one.

Things got wild (and so much fun) when I came across an adorable pin on Pinterest for a baptism party.  And as they like to say, the rest is history.  I decided that there were way too many cute ideas to not have an all out bash to celebrate this important day.

I’m kicking myself because unfortunately, I ended up running around playing party host too much to get great pictures of everything.  It did really turn out SO cute.  I only wish I could show you more of how awesome everything turned out!

I decided to go with a shabby chic theme. With blues and greens as the main colors.  The main features were the treat table which turned out adorable, a beautiful fabric bunting, personalized onesie to wear under his christening gown, oatmeal jar mason jar centerpieces, and a beyond cute “guest book”.  My son’s godmother was a god send and helped me out with quite a few things for the party.

The day began with Sunday service at our church.  The pastor talked about the sacraments during the sermon and mentioned his baptism.  She also centered the children’s sermon around his baptism as well.  My favorite part is the song they sing after the sacrament of baptism.  It’s like a lullaby that included his name.  I made it without crying up until that point.  It was water works after that!

After church everyone came over to our house for a fabulous brunch.  My husband (the amazing chef) whipped up a delicious meal.  The Menu was:

  • Blueberry bread pudding with a cream cheese topping
  • Mushroom and cheese egg frittata
  • Roasted red potatoes
  • Steel cut oatmeal bar
  • Fresh fruit

We also had OJ, both hot and iced coffee and water.  I had originally wanted to do a mimosa bar but after I considered the cost decided against it.  One (or more, I’m really not sure) brought Champagne and so we ended up with mimosas anyway.

As a guestbook, we asked everyone to make their thumbprint on an outline of a tree.  This is one of my favorite mementos from the party.  It turned into an amazing keepsake that my son will be able to keep for years to come.

We used a white picture frame (you can get a similar idea here) and our son’s godmother drew in the outline of a tree and added a bible verse.  We got a few different ColorBox complementing colors of pigment ink pads and laid out a few archival quality pens.  We asked each guest to leave their thumbprint and sign their name.  I am thrilled with how it turned out!

It was such a wonderful day with lots of family and friends and our neighbors.  I was so happy that we were able to dedicate our son in God’s love.

Leave a comment